Minutes of Selectmen's Meeting, Town of Freedom, NH 03836 Monday, March 16, 2015

Present: Leslie Babb, Neal Boyle, Ernest Day, Jr. Selectmen; Police Chief Josh Shackford Karen Hatch, Town Adm.; several town residents.

Meeting called to order at 6:30pm, manifests were signed and mail was reviewed.

There was no public comment. Boyle did inquire about the possibility of using the bandstand for Easter Sunrise Service as the snow may be too deep at the beach. No one had an objection.

Babb asked for department head updates, the Chief had none; Hatch reported that the financial advisor would be in tomorrow in preparation for the auditors. Linda will be on vacation next week and Hatch will change her hours to keep the office open until 3pm.

The board next did the following board appointment and reappointments

Babb made a motion for the following 3 year appointments, Day seconded; so voted

Zoning Board of Adjustment

Regular members: Craig Niiler

John Krebs

Alternate members: Timothy Cupka

John Quigley

Heritage Commission

Regular members: Bonnie Burroughs

Alan Fall

Scott Cunningham

Alternate members: Carol Foord

Raymond Dahlstrom

Conservation Commission

There was discussion on Elliott being on three boards if appointed on the commission, Day did not see this as a problem, Boyle did, however, this would leave two vacant seats.

Day made a motion to reappoint William Elliott to a 3 year term; seconded by Babb, voted no by Boyle.

Babb made a motion to appoint the following alternates, seconded by Day; so voted.

Alternate members: Sue Hoople, 1 year term Greg Bossart, 3 year term

Check future meeting minutes for any amendments or changes to these minutes.

Forest Advisory Committee

Babb made a motion to reappoint Charles Depew to another 3 year term; seconded by Day; so voted

Babb made a motion to appoint Janet Meyers as an alternate for a 3 year term; seconded by Boyle, so voted.

Aquatic Invasive Species Committee

Babb made a motion to reappoint Bruce Howlett for a three year term; seconded by Day so voted.

Next was the election of officers, Day nominated Babb as Chairman, seconded by Boyle; Babb accepted. The board also agreed to continue as the Selectmenøs Rep to the same boards; Babb to Planning Board, Boyle to Forest Advisory and Day to Heritage.

Next reviewed was Town Meeting namely the regional ambulance contract. It was not know if all towns had passed. Boyle did note that he feels the sound system needs an upgrade and suggested wireless mikes.

Babb suggested that there be more community involvement in general town affairs. He felt that he had become complacent in some aspects and wanted the opportunity to be challenged. After discussion and input from a few in the audience Babb suggested that the Board members each take three classes of their choosing this year. Day and Boyle agreed.

Babb made a motion at 7:45pm to enter into non public session under RSA 91-A:3 II(a) With the Police Chief returned to open session at 7:50pm and meeting adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted, Karen Hatch Town Administrator

BOARD OF SELECTMEN

Leslie R. Babb

Neal E. Boyle

Ernest F. Day, Jr.